head photo

Past Recipients

Select by year


A CNN Digital logo

CNN Digital, one of the world’s leading digital news brands

A picture of Barbara Ehrenreich

Barbara Ehrenreich, author and activist

A picture of Rea Hederman

Rea Hederman, publisher, The New York Review of Books

A picture of Gerd Ludwig

Gerd Ludwig, photojournalist, documentary photographer

Merrill Perlman

Merrill Perlman, copy editor

A picture of Bill Plante

Bill Plante, Senior White House Correspondent, CBS News

A picture of Yoani Sanchez

Yoani Sanchez, Cuban blogger, journalist, entrepreneur

A picture of Lincoln Stephens

Lincoln Stephens, co-founder, The Marcus Graham Project

A picture of the Sports Journalism Institute logo

Sports Journalism Institute, training-internship program

Go to top


A picture of Byron E. Calame

Byron E. Calame, respected editor/ombudsman

A picture of Audie Cornish

Audie Cornish, co-host of "All Things Considered"

A picture of The Guardian logo

The Guardian, 193-year-old newspaper

A picture of Steve Kopcha

Steve Kopcha, advertising leader, educator

A picture of the Kyiv Post logo

The staff of the Kyiv Post, Ukraine’s leading English-language newspaper

A picture of Eugene Richards

Eugene Richards, photographer, filmmaker and writer

A picture of the Wired Magazine logo

WIRED, technology media outlet

Go to top



FleishmanHillard, global communications firm

Hearst Television

Hearst Television, national multimedia company

Michael Golden

Michael Golden, New York Times executive

Carol Guzy

Carol Guzy, staff photographer, The Washington Post

Greg Lee

Greg Lee, Executive Sports Editor, South Florida Sun Sentinel

Charles Lewis

Charles Lewis, author and investigative journalist

Aye Aye Win

Aye Aye Win, correspondent, The Associated Press-Myanmar

Go to top


Umar Cheema

Umar Cheema, investigative reporter, Pakistan

Jodi Cobb

Jodi Cobb, photographer and author

Mona Eltahawy

Mona Eltahawy, columnist and cyber-activist

John Ferrugia

John Ferrugia, investigative journalist, KMGH-TV

Jeff Leen

Jeff Leen, Washington Post Investigative Unit

Adam Moss

Adam Moss, Editor-in-Chief, New York Magazine

NYT Graphics Dept.

NYT Graphics Dept., The New York Times

Fred Papert

Fred Papert, advertising executive

Ken Paulson

Ken Paulson, President/CEO, First Amendment Center

Go to top


Margaret Wolf Freivogel

Margaret Wolf Freivogel, founding editor, St. Louis Beacon


FRONTLINE, investigative documentary series

Mario R. Garcia

Mario R. Garcia, CEO and founder, Garcia Media

David Granger

David Granger, Editor-in-Chief, Esquire Magazine

Robert S. Leaf

Robert S. Leaf, Chairman, Robert S. Leaf Consultants

Danny Lyon

Danny Lyon, photographer, filmmaker and writer

Mark Russell

Mark Russell, editor, The Orlando Sentinel

Süddeutsche Zeitung

Süddeutsche Zeitung, largest daily newspaper in Germany

Go to top


James Balog

James Balog, founder, Extreme Ice Survey

Cathleen Black

Cathleen Black, media executive


The Foundation for the Freedom of the Press (FLiP), Bogotá, Colombia

Dorothy J. Gaiter

Dorothy J. Gaiter, wine columnist, author

Myron Kandel

Myron Kandel, financial journalist

Larry Postaer

Larry Postaer, Co-Chairman, Rubin Postaer & Associates

Sandy Rowe

Sandy Rowe, editor


ZETA, weekly newspaper, Tijuana, Mexico

Go to top


Mazhar Abbas

Mazhar Abbas, defender of press freedom, Pakistan

Rance Crain

Rance Crain, President, Crain Communications Inc.

Doug Crews

Doug Crews, Executive Director, MPA

Bill Eppridge

Bill Eppridge, photojournalist

Rod Gelatt

Rod Gelatt, professor emeritus, Missouri School of Journalism

Deborah Howell

Deborah Howell, editor and ombudsman

Slate Magazine

Slate, daily online magazine

Go to top


No Honor Medals were awarded in 2008 due to the Missouri School of Journalism's centennial celebrations.

Go to top


Wayne Brasler

Wayne Brasler, University of Chicago High School

Dirck Halstead

Dirck Halstead, publisher, digital journalist

Frances L. Lewine

Frances L. Lewine, Associated Press, CNN

Paula Madison

Paula Madison, V.P. Diversity, NBC Universal

Russ Mitchell

Russ Mitchell, anchor, CBS News

Oh Yeon Ho

Oh Yeon Ho, founder, OhmyNews.com

Mary Beth Price

Mary Beth Price, founder, Empower MediaMarketing

William C. Price

William C. Price, CEO, Empower MediaMarketing

Ruth Reichl

Ruth Reichl, Editor-in-Chief, Gourmet

Go to top


Clifford Christians

Clifford Christians, professor, editor and ethicist

Bill Kovach

Bill Kovach, Committee of Concerned Journalists

Tom Rosenstiel

Tom Rosensteil, Committee of Concerned Journalists

Chuck Curtis

Chuck Curtis, BJ ’67, MA ’70, Chairman, Valentine Radford

Reza	Deghati

Reza Deghati, photojournalist, founder of AINA

Karen Brown Dunlap

Karen Brown Dunlap, President, Poynter Institute

Zubeida Jaffer

Zubeida Jaffer, journalist, editor, activist

John Seigenthaler

John Seigenthaler, journalist, editor, publisher

Go to top


KHOU Defenders

KHOU Defenders, Houston, Texas

Alejandro Junco de la Vega

Alejandro Junco de la Vega, publisher

Angus “Mac” McDougall

Angus “Mac” McDougall, photographer

Lisa Myers

Lisa Myers, BJ ’73, correspondent, NBC

Paul Steiger

Paul Steiger, Wall Street Journal

Carol H. Williams

Carol H. Williams, President/CEO, Carol H. Williams Advertising

Go to top


Leo Bogart

Dr. Leo Bogart, mass media sociologist

Anne Garrels

Anne Garrels, NPR Foreign Correspondent

James Nachtwey

James Nachtwey, photojournalist

Gloria Steinem

Gloria Steinem, writer, editor, activist

William H. Taft

Dr. William H. Taft, BJ ’38, MA ’39, Missouri School of Journalism

Ernest C. Withers

Ernest C. Withers, photojournalist

TEMPO Magazine

TEMPO, Indonesian news magazine

Go to top